My attempt at Wideo and thoughts on Week 5’s exploration

Check out my Wideo creation on how to find the full text of scholarly articles.  Click on image below to be taken to the site:

final-wideo-screenshot-for-blog

Thoughts from this week’s exploration:

Wideo – This is the tool I spent the most time with that was listed in the article by Byrne.  I was first interested in it because he described it as a tool you could create “Common Craft style” videos in.  Using the site though, how to do this was not obvious to me.  You could make nice presentation videos or tutorials.

Wideo was cool, I had to sign up for a free one week trial.  Does not seem to be a better free option?  Or an educator option?  I picked a template – it was a bit hard to find the right one because a lot are geared towards business and marketing rather than education.  It had great editing options!  I loved that after I uploaded my own photos I could edit them more once in Wideo.  For example, two of my photos needed more cropping than I could do with my PC before uploading, but I could fix once in Wideo (these images basically wouldn’t have worked if it did not have that option.)  You can also add stickers, text, frames, edit red-eye, etc.  One problem I did have:  I added a sticker, saved changes then found better sticker for what I wanted and was unable to delete previous sticker – had to delete photo and redo it.  Other cons: I could not get as many slides as would like (limited to 6) and could not add as many seconds as would like to a slide (total video limited to 30 seconds) without upgrading.  While I do not expect to have all the bells and whistles of a pro version (icons and sounds to add, etc.); this was disappointing.

The Buffy vs. Edward copyright case – #1 Take-away: it’s complicated.

Before embarking on a lesson in which student create video content BE SURE to go over fair use.  Resources and lesson plans from organizations like Common Sense Education can help.

Richardson’s Chapter 8 – We live in a time where we are more globally connected than ever and where multimedia publishing has been brought to the masses (Richardson, 111). While a bit intimidating (copyright, tech involved, student privacy, etc.), I think our students will be doing this with or without us, so I rather it be with us and maybe they will learn some things along the way (how not to violate copyright, tech that makes it easier for them, ways to safeguard their digital footprint, etc.)  This prompts me to want to revisit metaliteracy: Mackey, T. & Jacobson T. (2011). Reframing Information as a Metaliteracy. College and Research Libraries. Retrieved from http://crl.acrl.org/content/72/1/62.full.pdf 

Richardson provides some great links to resources for podcasting in education like the Education Podcast Network and real-life examples. (p 115-117).  He also goes into how-to.  Screencasting is also included in this chapter I was happy to see Jing mentioned since I already use it.  I have used it myself for instruction, this week’s lesson got me thinking about how to have students use it.  For instance, putting students in groups and have them be assigned to make screencasts where they teach the rest of the class a part of the lesson.  Livestreaming or WebTV is also mentioned in this chapter – I am not there yet!

iTunes Podcasts and TeachThought’s & Edutopia’s recommended educational podcasts:

The number of iTunes podcasts on educational technology alone (for example) was overwhelming.  It also included some questional choices for the category including “Jokes in English” and “Sex Advice from Oprah.”  I clicked on one that was on-topic&it hadn’t had a new post since 2006, so some are dated which could be a problem with rapidly changing ed tech world.

Rather than sample at random it would be wise to consult lists of “Best of’s” from some sites I already know are reliable to see what podcasts would of interest to me or (better yet) commonly appear on more than one “Best of” list.  Podcasts that are already vetted would be more useful to me and save me time.  So I started with the lists provided in our week 5 content.  Some I am familiar with: TedTalks, various NPR podcasts.

A recommendation that really interested me was G.A.M.E. “featuring practitioners who have successfully implemented games into their classrooms and learning environments.”  We turned our 5-week information literacy course for the Summer Bridge Program (serving incoming freshmen) into a game-based curriculum in summer 2015 and in the 6 years I have been teaching in the program it was the most successful version yet.  It would be good to come up with new ideas and hear other examples of how to integrate gaming through this podcast.  Moving at the Speed of Creativity is a long-running, educator produced podcast primarily focusing on creative uses of multimedia with students.  The latest entry includes a movie that would be relevant for a screening or acquisition once on DVD for many of my subject areas. Additional posts include ISTE, iPad and digital citizenship as topics – all potentially useful for my continued professional development.

Spreaker (not on the list) – I discovered Spreaker over the summer because it was featured in the Unquiet Librarian’s blog.  The fact that it works on several platforms as this blog points out is key to me: desktop (PC or Mac) and mobile (Apple or Android) is a big draw to me because I need to be sure all my students and faculty can use it. Equal access, usability are key.  I watched a video tutorial but I am not ready to get into all that goes into trying it out.  Most importantly I found my next podcast to check out when I finish the West Wing Weekly and Gilmore Guys podcasts –Out on the Lanai: A Golden Girls Podcast

YouTube/TeacherTube/Vimeo– I like that TeacherTube is a safe venue specifically for instructional videos.  This will make finding educational content easier than searching all of YouTube which is also full of cat videos, surprise egg videos, and stupid human tricks videos. It is nice to have an alternative storage site (and place to search for content) as an educator.  I like that you can create a free account, but I do not like the fact that it includes advertising.  For instance, when I wanted to watch a video on Boolean operators I had to sit through an advertisement from Wayfair on how to create an “outdoor bar shed” as in “Would you like a Gin and Tonic before you mow the lawn?”(not the best school content I must add!)

3612336224_c4ed195c5d_b

Image from: Global Jet, Flickr  https://c1.staticflickr.com/3/2479/3612336224_c4ed195c5d_b.jpg

I like the look of Vimeo and know it is growing in usage.  I found the best comparison of Vimeo to YouTube from Techsmith (behind Jing) making me think it is worth checking out, however I am getting account fatigue!

Cited

Richardson, W. (2010). Blogs, Wikis, Podcasts, and Other Powerful Web Tools for Classrooms. Thousand Oaks, CA: Corwin.

 

 

Leave a Reply

